Fading

Deep breath:
I inhale emptiness
Swaddled in forgotten tendencies,
I cannot let go.
Swelling upon my heart,
if this body was an ocean,
love escaped too long ago
when the familiar voices called my name
and said, you must be ‘all’.

Heavy is the weight of doubt
inside a chest–an anchor taking eternal rest. How can one sleep with the ghosts claiming your yesterdays?

Stares come silently, blank, my own
expressions hold what tears won’t release; grief. Captured in years, I am trapped beneath the emotional death of my family,
hardened & separated. I never had a ship worth sailing,
But Jesus, can you still see the light in me?

Leave a Reply

