Truth Be Told: I Fear

Love others as yourself, I read today.

Distant eyes give doubt to who see right through: my stomach violent with insecurity. I should speak with eloquence, but my weakness aches to gain composure-
keep the commandments of the world in the muscles where firmness is lacking.

I look at others fearfully-
even those suffering with me-afraid of what they’ll see-nerves frayed beyond beliefs-tolerance stealing love indefinitely.

Arm’s length gives glory to our enemy
& behind every hardened glance or harsh word spoken,
I am watching everyone die so slowly,
a raven’s hidden never felt as close.

Leave a Reply

