We Are Sandcastles

Our mouths are drawbridges. That is, if sandcastles could support a drawbridge. Just think about it a second. In Psalm 104:24, the Psalmist writes, When you turn away, they are afraid;when you take away your breath, they die and go back to the dust from which they came. Look at the last bit: when you take away your breath, they die and go back to the dust from which they came. What does this say about us? Our breath is His. Every single one of us has the opportunity to use this great gift of inhaling/exhaling to build someone up in love, or tear them to shreds.

How many of us probably take this gift for granted? I know I do. To know we have the ability to impact someone’s life just by the fact Jesus died & rose again, so that I may have a place in His kingdom is overwhelming. A home so much greater than this suffering planet we call Earth. But, much more than that is Him doing this so I can have a relationship with the One who sees our every imperfection, and chooses to call us His beloved.

What does this have to do with how we use our words? Before any of us can build another up, we must change how we talk to/about ourselves. I’m going to be honest: I struggle with this on a daily basis. Like today, I sat and got so down on myself, I thought, Lord, things aren’t going to get any better. I’m not doing anything for this. I’m not good enough. I suck. During these moments of self-pity, I never stop to think about how much it must sadden Jesus to hear me talk about myself in such a way that casts negative light on Him. Now, that I think about it, I must be condemning Him when I decide to succumb to the Satan’s lies.

You know, I know what the problem is. Comparison. It’s the moments I find myself suck in self-doubt. It doesn’t matter if I’m actually with a person or follow them on a social media site, like Facebook, or here. Something inside me just resigns itself and whispers, Face it, Julia, you just don’t have it.

So, how have I come to help defeat this monster of doubt? Today, I have decided that whenever that voice comes to carry me six feet under, I’m going to: 1. Turn on worship music. 2. Stop what I’m doing and pray. 3. Read the bible.

Verse to ponder: Let us keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from beginning to end. He did not give up because of the cross! On the contrary, because of the joy that was waiting for him, he thought nothing of the disgrace of dying on the cross, and he is now seated at the right side of God’s throne. (Hebrews 12:2 GNT)

Your thoughts:

Do you struggle with self doubt/worth? Have any stories you’d like to share? How have you overcome it?

Leave a Reply

