Praise for Mother

I know I skipped a day, but God just gave me more to be thankful for.

Day 2-My Mom

There’s a lot I could say about my mom. When it comes right down to it though, God knew what He was doing  when He made me her daughter. We have this joke between us, where we call each other, “somping”. (Don’t ask, we have no idea where it came from either.) It’s a take on the word “something”. We’ll be walking around the house, or anywhere else saying, “My somping!? Somping, somping, somping. I don’t know my somping! It’s my somping!..” It never fails to make one of us laugh. Mostly me. She’ll be the first to tell you I crack up at nothing at all. I’m not kidding. A room can be so quiet, and I’ll just bust out in a silent laughter until tears start falling.

She just sits there and says, “Child..” I’m so thankful that I can put a smile on her face. Even if it’s just a second long.

We’ve been through some serious changes together. Times where a smile wasn’t enough. Where my need for hugs was abundant. (I love hugs. Drive my mom crazy asking repeatedly for ’em sometimes.) Gilmore girls marathons. Making up words to songs. I’m guessing a lot of people do this, but my mom will talk out the song while making up words. I lose my breath by the end of the song from laughing so hard.

Important lessons my mom has taught me:

-Don’t take everything so seriously, even yourself.

-Laugh

-Give your best, always.

-Love ceaselessly

-Put others before you

-Dreams are NEVER unattainable.

The most important thing she has ever taught me is how to love God. When my mom gives her time to someone or something, she gives every little last bit of herself. Cooking. Cleaning. Laundry. She may have up to 5 things she needs to do, but she always gets it done. With love in her heart.

Sometimes I think, she doesn’t feel she’s doing enough. Just like my dad, she has given me her time, patience, guidance, and neverending love. That will always be enough. (Wow, that was cliche.)

Thank you, my somping.

 

Leave a Reply

