Heartbreak’s Reciprocal

My newest poem on The Reflection. Check it out. 🙂

The Reflection

Image by Jordan Sanders https://www.flickr.com/photos/that-girl-witha-camera/ Image by Jordan Sanders
https://www.flickr.com/photos/that-girl-witha-camera/

When I fall away,
reciprocal of human love,
may I stand a mile away
because I’m tentative–
hesitant in making their acquaintance.

Listless gazes caught me
once before–dirt brown or maybe chocolate,
groping my tongue with his,
killed my soul each parting.

He kept me hungry
not for meeting other crying lips,
but the brokenness taste
I thought I could band aid
with my own.

I’d only look at them fearful
I’d confess too much:
I can never love you
for the memory of a boy
I spent my days holding
his hourly praise–

you are sexy, hot, beautiful,
you can put anything
into words,
I will buy all of your books.

I drank all of these phrases,
water, water, water,
his mouth my cup.

He became a shadow,
shifting my heart
along distances from touch,
from light to dark.

I blinded myself to the…

View original post 20 more words

Leave a Reply

