A Lone

20140722-144149-52909587.jpg
A lowly tomato
sits against the window
pane.

Days have passed
since I ate his friend.
Maybe a lover
garnishing Caprese salad
two days ago.

I don’t commend
killing off love,
but I know life deepens
beyond flesh of another.

In the absence of touch,
lies first impression’s
imprint: coy glances
from across the garden.

Innocent touches turning
skin red, as they lean together
bashfully pressing lips
to form a smile at the break
for breath.

I’m sorry,
my rosy colored friend.
I truly am.

I vow to keep you company
until my stomach desires
your sweet delicacy
once again.

Side Note: I never knew I could spend almost a whole day writing about tomatoes. About them being in love and this poor guy losing his companion due to my consumption. Please don’t be surprised if I end up making this a trilogy in some way. Did I mention how hilarious this is? 😉 For those that haven’t seen part 1, you can find it here. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

