Up & Away

To wish you well
little red robin
atop the deck rail-
I don’t wish to do.

I wish you would
stay awhile.

Tell me how the sun
warms your breast
as the wind caresses
your wings beginning flight.

Do you catch your breath
when those tiny feet push
up off the ledge?
Do you fear you’re leaving
something, someone behind?

I watch how you land
gracefully quick.
You look at the grass
and when I think you
are looking at me-

you gather up
your wings taking
for the sky-
without saying
goodbye

Leave a Reply

