Who Sees Me

I haven’t prayed the way I think
I should: listing all my wants/needs
I wish fulfilled. I’ve been sitting still on this porch, music low enough
to hear, see the world.

The crickets rub their legs together,
making a song birds carry travels long. Yellow wings flutter about,
time is no concept with freedom found. Crows caw. Dogs bark.

The sun shines. Fades away. Cars pass to & fro,
home bound or other places far.
People talk. Car doors slam. Empty or full, I do not know. Another bird calls out a phrase I know, yet fear admittance.

Help.

Help.

Help.
Help.

Help.

Help.
Help.

A car starts, pulls away.

The bird is quiet now.

I turn the music back on.

I paused to listen to this bird cry.

A song plays about waiting for God.
His voice far away.
You are alone.
Lonely.

What you’d give
to hear your name,
sweet is the sound
on Beloved lips-

a garden perfumed
the Word with, in,
about you.

You look at me-
I know, Jesus,
isolation brings my soul
back to truth: You forsake not,
letting my heart, mind, body
come as they are, crippled.

Needing You,
my true beauty,
my unspoken prayer,
my Husband.
my Brother.
my Friend.

My Father,
forever.

Leave a Reply

