Nomad

A collaboration between Red Gladiola and myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

I cannot cherry-pick

the days I’ve divided

my soul between reason and unknown.

 

I always step where I am told.

On this well-worn road
I cannot always discern
the next bend or turn through the deep ruts.

 

Do not ask me where it leads.

I am crying for someone

to come pull me from the middle,

where I stand now.

 

Voices ahead.

Behind.

Begging my follow through.

 

This yellow line is the closest friend,

knowing decision can’t be made

when force cripples my frame.

 

I plod through
another journeyโ€™s day.

Sending my prayers to the sky
the burden lightens
from mere acclimation.

 

Drifting, I hesitate against the grass
where the trodden path abuts.

Should I follow conformity’s soft

blade down to meet river comfort?

 

Or venture out to rock’s edge,

risking bruised & skinned knee

to hear I am loved the same

though middle ground became

my stability from the beginning?

 

I pray my answer comes

in your acceptance twining,

our handsโ€™ strength becoming one.

12 thoughts on “Nomad

  1. Pingback: Nomad | redgladiola

Leave a Reply

