This Is Why

She said. Why are you smiling?

I stood against the chair, feeling the corners of my mouth point to the ceiling.

I shook my head. No reason.

She asked again.

Same response.

I’m offered coffee with carmel macchiato creamer.

I accept without hesitation.

Would you like waffles?

Only butter please.

I hope I spread it evenly enough.

Pfft. Yeah because I only eat I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.

Sarcasm.

Laughter.

She set the waffles in front of me.

I stick the plastic knife & fork into the toasted morning delicacy.

Want help?

I’m going to get it.

The waffle finally split in half.

You got it! Encouragement without mockery.

She settled on a movie. Is this okay? Pirates of the Caribbean.

Another reason we are becoming friends.

Mutual love for Johnny Depp as a pirate.

We sat there, working on different dreams, separated by laptops.

Music & poetry.

Do you know how to delete these words?

I took the laptop, highlighted the words, deleted.

I gave it back, finding I deleted too much.

I’m sorry. I was only trying to help.

I know. It’s okay.

I wanted to do this right the first time.

I fought the urge to beat myself up.

Such a tiny thing.

I’m human.

I exhale.

I don’t do taxes people.

I don’t want 24 pages of poetry.

It needs to be small.

A sample. Like a demo. She remarked.

I’m understood.

We continued working.

I edited, emailed, and held random conversation with this beautiful friend.

Without fear.

Panic.

Worry the time is ending.

What I’m used to

Replaced with love.

Gentleness.

Kindness.

When she says she’ll miss me,

I know she means it.

Despite my negative comment about I’m not much to miss,

Her smile as I pulled away from her hug proved otherwise.

Purity.

I’m known.

Leave a Reply

