Woo Me While I Wait

Before I cry,
my eyes water
looking as a piece of glass
You know will spill over
wells of apology I don’t need repeat

But for I who fear Your name,
the moments I feel faint,
I must confess my needing
gentlest hand lead me home.

Your laughter a waterfall
my ears have strained hearing.
Oh My child. My sweet.
You are safe, I am Your fortress.
Nothing will harm you.

Lord, love be Your mantra
in this scared place
our hands twine
together Word
from which I have
been formed.

You see me.
Gazing in jealousy restrained,
as I sing out to nightingale, cricket, tree alike: He is risen above all!
My Beloved, My Bridegroom,
the water I thirst, the fire I wait to crackle my speech.

He is deliverance,
My lighthouse shining light over
seas wide enough to engulf my vessel, shaken by fear I shall drown.

Your love is strong, preserving my life, Your jewel, precious pearl
You delight in eternally.

Our love is more than feelings
I attributed to this day, days behind.
It is I AM unchanging,
unlike a silver ring I kept
from a boy I believed forever mine.

Take these tears, Yours, before I knew rain.
I’ll take these weepy, autumn leaves

fall

fall
fall

fall
fall

fall

f
a
l
l
i
n
g

humble promising

You are good.
Everlasting.
Truly faithful.

2 thoughts on “Woo Me While I Wait

Leave a Reply

