Lift My Chin, Smile On Me Again

Sweetly, my soul finds comfort in God,

my safety blanket comes from him.

Sweetly, he is my granite ledge,

my saving hand. He is my shelter,

I am never bid farewell.

How long will you cover my body

inside well-stitched clothing,

as my timidity hiding behind muscles fair?

Will you questions push shame beneath

pale face—this shy mouth,

these ever tearing blues?

Surely, they plan bowing me down

from my joying place;

they rejoice in deceit.

Mouths as my own, proclaim:

God be with you! In their heart,

they curse, No, my Father, be with me!

Go on my soul, find rest in dearest friend;

my hope resides in him.

Sweetly, he is my granite ledge,

my saving hand. He is my shelter,

I am never bid farewell.

My grace, truth come way his love;

he is my mighty stronghold, my cleft.

Trust in him morning light, on, you all;

pour out your precious heart

before him. He will listen,

for he takes great concern in his children.

Surely those born into poverty are but a breath;

the rich but a lie.

If measured, they come up equal,

wind blowing through your hair.

Do not put trust in extortion,

vain hope in what guilty hands have stolen;

your goods may increase,

dont let them become heart’s downfall.

One truth God has said,

two promises my ears have yet

hear unbroken: “Power belongs

to you, God. and with you is unfailing love”;

and, “You reward everyone according to what they have done.”

2 thoughts on “Lift My Chin, Smile On Me Again

Leave a Reply

