all is well, you’ll see

a daydream in my dear’s mind

I became. out of dust he formed

my frame, knit me secretly

where human eyes could not

greet me. in my mother’s womb

I stayed til he said: come child,

winter has passed on coldest

apologies, plea for one more

day. in just a little you will cry.

your body will heave why

& mother will whisper,

shh, it’s okay. he watched

me stumble over this question,

building a friendship with fear’s

false security. he watches me

now tension downing

my brow—lights above head

flickers as the vigil I’m holding

inside my disheartened soul.

I sing, soft & low, rising slow

words I trouble believing.

Leave a Reply

