in unseen arms, i awoke

at a white clothed table,
I sit alone. staring ahead,
I do not notice she is close

until her arms envelope
absence I take to be my body.
thank you for being here,

she says. I begin weeping.
I hear myself holding breath.
I dont want to be this weak.

tears absentmindedly soaking
my cheeks, her dress. we are
inside a reception hall—joyous

flashbacks follow beforehand
occasion. this is not a wedding,
funeral, nor graduation. i am

lost in blindness, unclear
speech met by a pillow
strength my head/heart deniy arrest.

2 thoughts on “in unseen arms, i awoke

Leave a Reply

