where’d you go, child?

i’ve watched this day

unfold ache: one 

unwitnessed by my eyes.

another seen by love & mine,

brought to sorrowful repentance.

because of a dream i had maybe mid

morning. i told you through ink i didn’t want dreams taking me 

back down past road. in the truck 

we sit & i am staring him down,

waiting those lips spread across my own. i say, i want to feel again over & over again with the tension swarming inside my body.

but i know i will die if his 

pointer traces my mouth;

you don’t let him hurt me,

even as i beg you. please, god, please, i want to feel again. let

him sting me, for I am Eve, believing 

you have withheld good from my beauty. & here i am, needy, weakening my flesh with hellfire,

before you find me shivering 

behind the fig leaf.

Leave a Reply

