God from a hotel room 

Sunlight against glass–

I watch yellow shimmer

across his sleeping frame.

He breathes in.
I close my eyes,

smiling at the sun.

He breathes out; i’m closed in 

presence sweet brought by aged love 

living deep my grandpa’s bone.


Author’s note: Sometimes when you’re watching Holes in a your grandpa’s hotel room, you can’t help but soak in moments, like peek a boo with the sun & knowing God is singing above you in heaven while your grandpa sleeps on in the chair beside you. His presence means so much to me, peace he leaves with me. 

I had to write this before I forgot. I’m thankful for probably the most mundane things, but those are special.

Dear God, you have something to show me all the time. Maybe grandma was right: you will open a window. or my eyes to look up out the window.

Don’t let my heart go blind to the good before me, please.

Leave a Reply

