a speck i am

i am less
than the stars
i’ve only begun
see this summer—

who am i, Love,
that you desire
quiet intimacy
with me?

that white light
between V branches
stronger than a collar-
bone, but same color,

causes me wonder
the good news lighting
ember where sadness
pushes up & out my mouth.

Jesus.

i love when i am inspired by a friend. 🙂 so much thankfulness for the friends God has put in my life. who sit with me from miles away. who listen as i go what i’ve claimed to be “crazy” and end up being accidentally hilarious.

thank you, God, for reminding me on this simple tuesday, that watching cupcakes rise & constant hugs & hilarious texts are permission to relax in your love, not take everything, including myself so serious. & laugh

& receive grace to be your child.

6 thoughts on “a speck i am

  1. Nicely written poem, made better by the personal tone it has. I’ve followed, I’m a writer myself, and if you have the time I’d love for you to check out my small blog. Atm its mainly short stories and a bit of poetry, but I’m working on a novel (Prologue is on my blog). Feel free to check it out, keep blogging and have a good day 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I took a look at one of your poems the other night–you have a very unique voice, keep going with it. Reading novels is a bit of challenge for me lately, I can’t imagine what writing one is like right now, I’ve only written a short story. I’m going to follow, your poetry is beautiful. Keep writing!. Hopr you’re having a good day “)

      • I’m honestly really humbled that someone with clear poetic talent thinks that. And yep its definitely difficult fitting it in around things, but I feel like I need to write the story, it’s begging to be finished… So many ideas, and here’s a little insider scoop – poetry is going to make an appearance in the novel, I had the idea last night and have gone back through and edited it in. Imo its a very unique way of developing my main character 🙂 wish I could say I was having an amazing day, I had a bit of an accident so can’t use my arm for the next week (so it will be hard to type up a story one handed haha). Your kind words definitely brightened it up 🙂 I hope my blog can continue to interest you

Leave a Reply

