look up, my friend

a deer pants, 
water, water!
so my soul

thirsts for word, 

dispelling any want 
other than you,

my God. where 

can I go to speak 
about these tears

finding no reply day

or night–
where is your God?

the accuser asks me.

What I remember out

on this rocking chair,
the end of a summer 

alone in an apartment, 

singing along with Jamie Grace,
“Give me that, give me that 

the way you show Jesus.”

over & over, with a joy 
coming around Christmas.

Why so sad, my soul? Why 

fret within me? God is with us,

He will not fail those who are hopeful

in him.

For you know the intimate 

ways he’s loved you today:

the cinnamon apple puffs

she placed in the cart, 

chocolate chip cookies 

placed before you. “Here, Julia.

Have a cookie.” 

The way he wrapped you in a hug & genuinely 

thanked you for the food

you weren’t sure you could afford.

My soul, you are downturned, 

remember your God! from present,

past to future, He is faithful!

Deep calls deep, Lord, in your

waterfalls–all the waves & breakers 

have swept over me.

By day, God directs his love,

at night his song is with me–

hallelujah, to the God of life.

God, I cry, Why have you forgotten 

me? Why must I have nightmares

of the enemy, dragging me to 

depravity? My bones tense at the dark, 

as foes remark, it’s just the 

dark. Why can’t you sleep, God is 

watching you, isn’t he?

Why so sad, my soul? Why 

fret within me? God is with us,

He will not fail those who are hopeful

in him.

One thought on “look up, my friend

Leave a Reply

