until then, i’ll cry out


a break in the cloud

as the lingering thought

in midst of my mind–I am

forgotten, asked to step off

to the side, while I watch

everyone run in, run out,

run in again. Same as pride

I’ve tried outrun, but oh,

how I want to be the object

of someone’s 24/7 affection,

the one. when I read psalmist,

You’re the one I want in Heaven,

on earth. I tear with heartache,

God–I see the hem run across

my eyes, strain to follow the path

Your feet take. I am left, Moses in

the cleft, wondering if You will

turn back in love for me.

Leave a Reply

