the weight of it all.

Lord, won’t you come

on this swing with me?

Sway me back & forth 

With the breeze, but please 

don’t let this motion be like 

my dreams. Always hanging 

in the balance of my maybe..

I hear the birds singing, telling 

each other, how come she doesn’t yet 

believe all the Lord

Does above, in between and below, is love 

her? Or maybe they are giggling from a 

joke,

But oh Jesus, my heart is starting to know

fmf: play.

This poem could’ve been more about the fact I want to go sit on a swing set with Jesus (even though I’m pretty sure, no I know he’s on the porch swing right now with me.) but instead it’s about a dream I’ve been longing for that maybe was reawakened this week. It’s mystified me and made my heart all excited at the thought. Way too excited. I broke more this week and Jesus has held me. 

I also learned an awesome attribute about Jesus: Sovereignty  of God, his absolute right to do all things according to his own good pleasure. I’m in Ezekiel in my bible in year reading plan (a little more than half way done! Also makes me way too happy since it’s my first time. I’m gonna throw myself a party at 75 or a hundred percent. And dance to Ellie Holcomb.) and Sovereign keeps popping up a lot. I know that means God is in control, but I love finding this definition, that God does things for his own good pleasure. And then I find that pleasure has a synonym of “delight.” It’s hilarious because it’s my word this year. 😂 I love the way God does this. Love it. Sweeps in.

Speaking of delight: 

I got this candle in the mail yesterday and can’t wait to light it. My sister got it for me in a smaller size 2 birthdays ago and haven’t been able to quit it. I love that it’s called joy and laughter. I want so much of that in my life lately. 

Fill me up, Jesus. Oh please.

12 thoughts on “the weight of it all.

    • Thank you, Melinda. According to my bible plan I am. I want to throw a party for every book I make it through. I’m hitting a bit of a rough patch right now, but I’m hoping I’ll pick it back up (get into again. Ezekiel is getting kind of tough to get into).

      Hugs. 💕

  1. Loved this, Julia! My One Word is “delight” as well 😊. And I’m also doing a Bible in One Year plan (The NLT Bible in One Year Bible Study). And that’s also new to me- that Sovereign means “His absolute right to do all things according to his own good pleasure”. That really warms my heart. Interesting the similar path He is taking us down. You are an encouragement with your words today. Thank you 😘

    • That’s hilarious that our word is the same for the year. We can find delight together! ☺️ I’m doing a bible plan on Youversion, Eat this book. It takes you through a similar way the Jewish read their bible with Old Testament and then the new, with a psalm as prayer at the end each day. I’m on my second read through of psalms. It warned my heart too to find “for his own pleasure.” And thank you for encouraging me 💕

  2. Great poem! The imagery of you and Jesus playing on the swings is beautiful. The bird’s commentary is funny. I really enjoyed this! Your #fmfparty friend No. 52

  3. Yes, fill me with more delight and happiness. Your post reminded me a book I am reading, The Sacrament of Happy, by Lisa Harper. We serve a happy God. One who delights in us and wants us happy.

    • I’ve heard about that book. ☺️ may have to put it on my list. and yes to more delight and happiness. It’s taking me a while for my heart to get God is happy. Wants us happy. Thank you for the reminder and for visiting. ☺️

Leave a Reply

